- - - - -

Daiwa Certate

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 SteelingHeads

SteelingHeads

Posted 03 November 2009 - 10:03 AM

Hey Guys!

I am considering a Daiwa Certate 3500 for some of my "lighter duty" jigging and casting applications. Anyone have any thoughts on the reel? Any opinions or reviews? Thanks!

#2 mbg60

mbg60
  • LocationHonolulu, Hawaii

Posted 03 November 2009 - 10:53 AM

Hey Sean,
I have been using a Certate 4000 for plugging for about 4+ years now. I just sent it in to have the gears replaced and it's like new again. The reel is good enough in my opinion that I bought a second one, got a great deal on it too, to use for a back up. The reel has been terrific, smooth drag, solid feel to it, strong gearing. I also purchased the RCS machined handle to use in place of the folding handle. The only negative to this is that the machined handle does not collapse in any way, so it's a little bulky.

I'm not sure, but they may be discontinuing/upgrading the Certate line so prices may be well worth it.

Aloha,

Mark

Hey Guys!

I am considering a Daiwa Certate 3500 for some of my "lighter duty" jigging and casting applications. Anyone have any thoughts on the reel? Any opinions or reviews? Thanks!

#3 lordhell

lordhell
  • LocationAllen, TX

Posted 03 November 2009 - 11:12 AM

You will want a Daiwa Certate 3500HD or Certate Hyper Custom 3500/4000 for jigging and casting game use. Those two reels employ the Hyper Digigear vs standard Digigear in the regular Certates. Much stronger gear alloys and more durability allows you to fish it longer and harder. If you can afford it, it's better to get the new 08 Stella SW 5000 for this application. Alternatively, if you must go Daiwa and cost is not an issue, the Daiwa Saltiga Game 3500 is also very good for this app.

#4 SteelingHeads

SteelingHeads

Posted 03 November 2009 - 12:18 PM