- - - - -

Newbie Setup

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 stingray

stingray

Posted 25 September 2010 - 03:59 PM

Hey guys,

I'm a novice Tuna fisherman and I have some questions. I'm looking for a popper/jigging setup to go on a 36-hour in November. This will be my second Tuna trip. I'm wanting to keep it relatively inexpensive. Let me know what you think about what I'm considering.

Reel:
EXC5000T
Bass Pro Shops Outdoors Online: Offering the best in Fishing, Hunting and Outdoor Products

I'm looking at a rod and I'm wanting to keep it under $250 for a rod/reel.

Let me know if you know of a better value or a rod/reel combo I could pick up cheap. Thanks.

#2 johndtuttle

johndtuttle

Posted 25 September 2010 - 05:16 PM

I think the reel choice is fine or go with a Shimano Stradic or Spheros whichever you think will meet your needs best. rod-wise that would leave about $100 in your budget, maybe someone has a good rec for you. maybe one of those vanstaal rods on sale at Tackledirect: Van Staal Spinning Jig Rods though that certainly would emphasize jigging rather than popping but by all reports are a terrific value at that sale price.

If you find the right rod at the right price get one that is specifically for jigging or for popping, imo. You are gonna need at least 2 eventually and if you try to get one for both you will just eventually never use it as compared to a dedicated jigger or popper that does one well.

#3 dragnbait

dragnbait

Posted 25 September 2010 - 05:56 PM